Skip to content
Explore South Carolina
Exploring the towns and history of South Carolina
Menu
Home
About
Donate and Support Us
Research Resources
Submit Leads
×
Search for:
Tag:
edgefieldsc
Posted in
Edgefield County
Instagram
Camellia Hall
Posted in
Edgefield County
Instagram
Edgefield Baptist Association Building
Posted in
Edgefield County
Instagram
The Carnoosie House was originally built by M. Lebeschultz in 1860. In 1884, the home was purchased by John Calhoun Sheppard, who would become Governor of South Carolina in 1886. His son, James Orlando Sheppard would become Lieutenant Governor of South Carolina during the 1920s, also lived here until his death. The name “Carnoosie” is reputed to be a Cherokee word for cornfield, but it is unclear why and when the name was first applied to this house
Posted in
Edgefield County
Instagram
Thurmond Place
Posted in
Edgefield County
Instagram
Trinity Episcopal Church – Edgefield
Posted in
Edgefield County
Instagram
This building in Edgefield was built about 1894, it was a general store, then a furniture store, and then a hardware store, all before 1920. Today it is the home of Carolina Moon Distillery
Posted in
Edgefield County
Instagram
The old Blacksmith Shop in Edgefield was built in 1917. The shop features live blacksmith demonstrations on Thursday and Saturday, 9a-3p weekly
Posted in
Edgefield County
Instagram
People’s Bank – D A Tompkins Library
Posted in
Edgefield County
Instagram
The Old Law Building – Edgefield
Posted in
Edgefield County
Instagram
Old Edgefield Grill
Posts navigation
← Older posts
Tollefson Research
Design by ThemesDNA.com
Scroll to Top